Oh it’s my turn, you see.

Made with Ai on Canva

For the clouds have started to turn
Their paths on to my morn
That had begun to be warm
Sunny and on the bright side
Look what now gathers
Clouds dark, not a silver line
So dreary, such a blight.

The wind has picked up the mood
Chasing the wildflowers away
Bringing the dust from fears past
Looking ready and poised and eager
To rain down on my day.

I see a storm brewing
Not very far from where I lay.
I can’t say if it’s the silly tears
Or my eyes have been filling with rain
I close my eyes and let it all slide.
Oh let the damn rain wash it away.
Take where it will my fear and this pain.

For I have had enough. I will not stay
Soaking and sobbing in the dark again
The storm may come if it dares
If it can even sweep me away.
Oh! Though I will have it warned
To be careful, be-aware

I smell the lightning, the storm, the rising
That has taken a breath within my soul
Oh this should be fun, says my little drum
Beating a fierce rhythm, in tune with my war cry
Now I speak loud and clear, not a hint of the fear.
Now’s my turn, you see
To set the wings free
Unsheathe them claws, unlearn those flaws
That were never mine to begin
Now battle I shall fierce
And walk to the victory cheers.
Rain or shine,
Blood or brine
I shall now conquer !

One thought on “Oh it’s my turn, you see.

Leave a comment